Social empowerment is a broad area of practice drawing upon social work and community development principles. Social empowerment is typically implemented at the four following levels: (1) the individual level – where the person values him/herself and actively wants to participate in life, (2) family level, (3) community level and (4) social policies level impacting local and national level actions to promote social equity and inclusion of all persons.

Social empowerment is indispensable to achieving quality of life for people with disabilities and it is both a continuous process as well as a result. Though social empowerment can be achieved through other areas of practice, such as inclusive education and socio-economic integration, it is also a specific area of practice where tools, methods and approaches exist to facilitate social inclusion. Personalised social support is one specific and tailored approach to social inclusion where a person is accompanied to thrive in his/her personal situation and environment.

This key list features resources that highlight all four levels of social empowerment through social work, personalised social support and general inclusion principles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed